What happens when a notification from Everbridge Suite is stopped in the Everbridge Manager Portal?
When an active notification is stopped, messages stop being queued for delivery by the Everbridge notification engine. If the notification is stopped immediately, some contacts may not receive the message. In most cases, however, the message will already have been delivered to most or all of the targeted contacts.
Stopping a notification also has different effects on different delivery methods.
Stopping an SMS Message
If the stopped notification requested confirmation, then contacts who received the notification may still confirm receipt via SMS by tapping the confirmation URL and/or replying YES. If a contact confirms via SMS, their call result will be "Confirmed":
However, if a follow-up is initiated, those same contacts will be listed as "Confirmed Late":
Stopping an Email Message
If the stopped notification requested confirmation, then contacts who received the notification may NOT confirm receipt via email. If a contact attempts to confirm via email, they will receive this message:
For more details on the "Confirmed" and "Confirmed Late" call results, please see Knowledge Base Article 3225 - What Do the Confirmation Statuses Mean in a Notification's Details?
Stopping a notification does NOT alert contacts that the notification has been stopped. To instruct contacts to disregard a notification, use a follow-up message. For more information on sending a follow-up message, please see Knowledge Base Article 3994 - What are the Differences Between the Rebroadcast and Send Follow-Up Actions for Notifications in Everbridge Suite?