NC4: Risk Center - RIMC Real-Time Risk Event Severity Level Descriptions


RIMC Real-Time Risk Event Severity Level.


The Risk Intelligence Monitoring Center assigns different severity levels to incidents as a method of quickly differentiating them by urgency and possible impact.
The incident Severity Level is classified using the Common Alerting Protocol (CAP) standard color-coded schema. The five severity levels are assigned by NC4 analysts, based on close examination of the following aspects of an incident:

  • Current threat to life and or property at the incident site
  • Suddenness or urgency of the incident
  • Size of the area impacted by the incident
  • Potential for escalation of the incident
  • Past intensity of the incident
  • Potential impact of an incident to the normal processes of an area
  • Context of an incident (including sensitivity of location)
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful



Article is closed for comments.