EBS: How to Preserve Contact Data When Using the Replace Option of a Contact Upload in Everbridge Suite

Topic:

How to preserve contact data when using the Replace option of a contact upload. (Contacts > Uploads > Upload to portal >Replace).

Description:

Replace uploads replace most of the contact data in Everbridge Suite. Most of what is in the system currently is removed and replaced by the contents of the upload file. This is useful for removing unwanted contacts from the Organization while also updating current ones, and entering new contacts. However, you may want to ensure certain contacts are not affected by your regular replace upload. Also without the correct configuration, it can mean losing additional information or other data you may want to keep. This article explains how to preserve information within the organization while performing a replace upload. 

Preserving Specific Contacts:

The Replace option for contact uploads normally deletes all contacts that are not included in the new upload file with the same External ID. To prevent certain contacts from being affected by the Replace upload,create a new record type for a group of contacts, and do not include this record type within the upload file. Only record types contained within the upload file are affected by the Replace upload.

EXAMPLE:

Consider an organization that has two record types: Employees and Managers. If you perform a Replace upload, and the file contains only record type Employees, contacts in the Organization with the record type Managers will be unaffected and vice versa. To create a record type follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the Manager Portal and select the appropriate organization from the drop-down menu in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Select Settings from the top menu bar.
  3. Select Contacts or Contacts/Assets from the menu on the left.
  4. Select Contact Record Types.

Your current record types can be seen here, and you can add more. A contact's record type can be changed at any time by editing their contact record in the Manager Portal, or by changing their record type when performing a new upload.

Preserving Additional Information:

If the Replace option for contact uploads is configured incorrectly, additional information can be lost from contacts. This can happen if you do Replace uploads and use the full template for the upload, but do not fill in all the necessary additional information data.

Additional Information Fields are all fields with 'Custom Field' or 'Custom Value' in their Column Header. If these Columns are included but their cells are left empty on a Replace upload, then you will lose the additional information for all contacts affected by the upload.

To prevent additional information from being lost during a Replace upload, remove all Columns in the contact upload CSV file with Column Headers that contain either 'Custom Field' or 'Custom Value'.

Related Information:

For more information on the contact upload Replace option, see Knowledge Base Article 000057329 - Uploading Contacts: Replace Option.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.