How can a deleted contact's "Last Modified By" value change after the contact was deleted?
Are contact records modified when a group they belong to is deleted?
A deleted contact's "Last Modified By" and "Last Modified Date" values can change if a group the contact belonged to is deleted. An example of how this can happen is detailed below:
- An Organization Administrator creates a new group ("Group 1") and assigns contacts to the group. The Organization Administrator then grants access to Group 1 to the Group Manager role.
- The Organization Administrator then deletes a contact ("Contact Smith") from the organization. Contact Smith belonged to Group 1. The Deleted Contacts sub-tab will show that the Organization Administrator last modified Contact Smith.
- The Group Manager, which does not have permission to delete contacts, deletes Group 1 from the organization. The Deleted Contacts sub-tab will show that the Group Manager last modified Contact Smith.
The above scenario would make it appear as if a role which does not have permission to delete contacts was able to delete a contact.