EBS: How to Assign One or More Roles to Users in Everbridge Suite

Topic:

How to assign one or more roles to users in Everbridge Suite.

Description:

Starting with the March 15, 2023 release, users must have at least one role assigned to them. This means:

  • if you add a new user and do not assign that user a role, you will get an error message and be unable to save that user
  • If you edit an existing user that has no role, and you do not assign that user a role, you will be unable to save any changes made to that user record

The requirement is that a user have at least one role assigned to them. Please note users can have multiple roles in an organization or across organizations within an Everbridge Account.

Account Level: To assign a role or roles to a user at the account level, follow the steps listed below:

  1. Log in to the Manager Portal as an account administrator.
  2. Select Users from the top menu bar.
  3. Select Users from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click on the pencil icon next to the appropriate user.
  5. In the Role information pane, select the following from the drop-down menu, starting from the left:
    1. Role level: Organization Level
    2. Organization name
    3. Role Type
  6. Click +New Role.
  7. Click the Default radio button next to the desired default role for the user
  8. Click Save.
  9. Warning: If you add a new user
  10. Repeat steps 5, 6 and 8 to add more roles for a user, if applicable.
  11. Select the Default radio button for the default role the user logs in as.
  12. Click the trash icon next to roles to delete them.
  13. Click Save.
User-added image

Organization Level: To assign a role or roles to a user at the organization level, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to the manager portal and select the appropriate organization from the drop-down menu in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Select Access from the top menu bar.
  3. Select Users from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click on the pencil icon next to the appropriate user.
  5. In the Role information pane, select the following from the drop-down menu, starting from the left:
    1. Role level: Account Level
    2. Role Type
  6. Click +New Role.
  7. Click the Default radio button next to the desired default role for the user
  8. Click Save.
  9. Repeat steps 6, 7 and 9 to add more roles for a user, if applicable.
  10. Select the Default radio button for the default role the user logs in as.
  11. Click the trash icon next to roles to delete them.
  12. Click Save.
User-added image
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.