NC4 - E Team - R9.8 Administration and Management - Document and Login Locking

E Team users who are a member of the ETeam Lock Override group have the ability the release a lock.

Document Locking 

E Team is designed so that only one person at a time can access a report in update mode. The Document Locking feature within Administration is an override feature that provides authorized users the ability to release document locks. When a lock is released, any changes made to the report by the current user WILL NOT be saved. The E Team user will receive a message on screen when they attempt to submit, informing them that they are attempting to save to an earlier version of the document. 

Releasing a Document Lock

Follow these steps to release a lock.

  1. Select Document Locking under Administration from the menu. The system displays the Document Locking view in the View Frame.
  2. Locate the report for which the lock should be released and click in the check box in the left column.
  3. Click on the Release button at the top of the left column. The system displays the release lock confirmation dialog.
  4. Click on OK. The system closes the confirmation dialog and releases the lock on the requested document. A verification dialog is displayed.
  5. Click on OK.

Login Locking

When your system has been configured to use this feature, a lock is placed on an E Team User ID when a predefined number of unsuccessful login attempts is exceeded. This setting is made in the General Configuration document. Users whose system has been enabled for login lockout will not be able to log into E Team after exceeding the number of attempts permitted. When this happens, an email will be sent to a designated E Team administrator who can then access a user's Personal Profile document to begin the release process. This email will include the following data:

Subject: E Team User locked out - too many invalid attempts

Email Body: The following user has been locked out: “Login ID” at “Day of Week” “Month” “Day” “hh:mm:ss timezone” from “IP”.

To unlock user log into “E Team” go to: Administration > Logs > Locked Users

There is no automatic expiration of a lockout. Once lockout has occurred, the unlock process must take place before the ID can again be used for E Team login.

Releasing Login Lock: User with Active Profile

Follow the process below to successfully release a login lock for a user with an active Personal Profile document. This may occur when a user does not properly log out of E Team before trying to log in again, etc.

  1. From the E Team menu, select Administration > Logs > Locked Users.
  2. Locate the User ID in the view and click on the associated document link. The system launches the user’s Personal Profile.
  3. Using the information contained under the Basic Info tab, contact the individual associated with the lock.
  4. Click on the Account Information tab. The data displayed includes a security question and answer specified by the user.
  5. Ask the user the Security Question displayed and confirm the response. Once satisfied that this is a valid user, click the Unlock User button at the top right of the Profile document. The login lock will be released and the view updated to record release data.

The Unlock User control is only visible when a user’s Personal Profile document is accessed using the Locked Users view.

When applicable, for security purposes and to ensure login lockout does not immediately occur again, go to Administration > User view and launch the associated User document, reset the password, and provide a new password to the user.

Releasing Login Lock: New User with no Active Profile

The process to unlock a user that has never successfully logged into E Team to create a user profile is different than that detailed above. Since this new user has not created a profile document, a failed login attempt will need to be handled differently.

  1. From the E Team menu, select Administration > Logs > Locked Users.
  2. Locate the User ID in the view and click on the associated document link. The system launches a short version of the associated User Administration document.
  3. Click Unlock User to release the login lock. The login lock will be released and the view updated to record release data.

When applicable, for security purposes and to ensure login lockout does not immediately occur again, go to Administration > User view and launch the associated User document, reset the password, and provide a new password to the user.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.