NC4 - E Team - R9.8 Administration and Management - E Team Logging Feature

The E Team Logging feature provides the means by which a customer can monitor use of their E Team application. Logging is enabled in the General Configuration document by selecting the Yes option in the User Action Logging Enabled field under the Additional Info tab. Logs can be viewed by users with administrator rights by selecting the Logs option found within the menu item Administration.

When enabled, multiple user activity logs will be automatically generated each day on a 24 hour cycle beginning at 12:00 am. These logs are not editable, however, they can be downloaded and saved to file. Each downloaded log will include all line items displayed in the associated view for that log type. Each day the previous days log will be sent to history and the view will be cleared as the new daily log is created and displayed in the active view. Log history will only be retained in E Team for a seven day period beginning Sunday at 12:00 am and ending Saturday at 11:59 pm (Sunday 00:00:00 thru Saturday 23:59:59).

Customers who wish to retain all log data MUST download and save these logs to
file on a regular basis.

The log clock must complete a 7 day cycle before history is cleared, therefore the
first log of each type after the logging feature is enabled in the General Configuration document may contain more than 7 days.

User Access Log

This log is provided to record when a person has logged in/out the application and the IP address used. The following data is captured in this log:

  • User ID
  • IP Address
  • Host Name
  • Logged In Date/Time (mm/dd/yyyy at hh:mm Timezone)
  • Logged Out Date/Time (mm/dd/yyyy at hh:mm Timezone)

Invalid Login Attempts Log

This log is provided to record failure of a login attempt. The following data is captured in this log:

  • User ID
  • IP Address
  • Host Name
  • Login Attempted Date/Time (mm/dd/yyyy at hh:mm Timezone)

Locked Users Log

This log is provided to record user lock out AND provides the means by which to release a login lock. The following data is captured in this log:

  • User ID
  • IP Address
  • Host Name
  • Locked At Date/Time
  • Released At Date/Time
  • Lock Released By (User ID)

See also General Configuration for additional information on configuring login lockout. This log is tied directly to use of the Login Lockout feature. The log is enabled whenever Login Lockout is enabled. The Locked User log will clear every 24 hours with the exception of records pertaining to a locked out user. Locked out user records will be retained in the active view until such time as the lock is released in order to facilitate the process to release a login lock.

User Actions Log

This log is provided as an audit record of every click by a logged in user. The following data is captured in this log:

  • User ID
  • IP Address
  • URL Accessed
  • Date/Time Accessed 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.