The Groups screen, as shown here, lists all the Groups to which you belong, and to which you have access.
The groups shown in the list will depend on your role:
- Sub-organization Administrators will see a list of the Groups to which they belong. It also lists all the Groups that have been created in their Sub-organization, or any of the lower-level Sub-organizations which have been created by their Sub-organization.
- The Root Organization Administrator will see a list the Groups to which you belong and all Groups that have been created in the Root Organization and all Sub-organizations.
An Example of Using Groups
Groups are comprised of one, many, or any number of users who have been grouped together for the benefit of easy assignment to a profile, location, etc. Administrators have control of group membership and can assign an entire group to a registered location, alert profile, or notification. This feature allows you to easily communicate and share information with the right people.
Groups may be used within the Root Organization or a Sub-organization only, but may also be used to cross-cut multiple Sub-organizations. Remember, Sub-organizations completely segregate users, locations, and alert profiles from other Sub-organizations and the Root Organization. The Parent Organization Administrator can make exceptions to this by assigning users from different Sub-organizations to the same group. By assigning the group to a certain registered location, that location can now be shared across Sub-organizations. Following is an example:
Example of Groups
This example shows that you (as the Root Organization Administrator) created three separate groups: Business Continuity, Security, and Exec Travel. Including the Admin Group, the total number of groups in your main account is now four. The Admin Group is known as the Parent Group of the other three because someone in the Admin Group created them and they fall directly under the Admin Group in a hierarchy.
For simplicity, let’s assume the main Admin Group account in the diagram only has the Root Organization, and that you have not created any Sub-organizations. The reason for creating these groups, for example, would be to place the people who are responsible for Business Continuity all in one group. When you register a new location in the system, you can easily assign the B. Continuity group to the location, instead of having to hand-pick each member of the group. In a similar fashion, when you want to create a new Alert Profile, you could also easily assign the entire group of users to the profile. The same holds for your staff responsible for Security and Executive Travel.
Now, let’s assume you have several Sub-organizations created. The users in each Sub-organization would not normally be able to see each other. They would not be able to see each other’s locations or Alert Profiles either. However, if there was a need for people from different Sub-organizations to work together, the Parent Organization Administrator would want to assign them to the same group. Members of the group would then be able to share resources across the different Sub-organizations.
Also assume your main Admin Group account was divided into the Supply Chain, Consulting, and Science & Tech Sub-organizations from the example in the Sub-organizations section. If you had staff in both the, Consulting, and Science & Tech Sub-organizations who needed to work together on Business Continuity matters, they could be assigned to the same B. Continuity group and could share information from both Sub-organizations. You, as the Root Organization Administrator, could assign this group to a registered location or a profile and all members of the group would be able to see those locations or profiles. In this way, you have brought together people from distinct Sub-organizations and have allowed them to share information.
The Groups screen lists your Groups in a table format that can be easily sorted by clicking on the column headings marked with the ascending/descending sort icons. Using the icon buttons provide, you can also print this information to a PDF file or export it to an Excel spreadsheet for review.
The Groups column headings include:
- Group Name – shows the names of all the Groups to which you belong or to which you have access, depending on your role. Click on the linked Group Name to access the Update Group screen.
Admin Groups shown here indicate who has Administrator privileges for the organization shown. There is only one Admin Group per organization. The Admin Groups are created automatically by the system when a Sub-organization is created.
- Parent Group – shows the Group to which another Group belongs.
It is possible to create a group hierarchy and assign one group to a level that is lower than another group. Any time the lower-level group is assigned, its Parent Group will also be assigned. Creating group hierarchies is an advanced feature best avoided unless specifically required. In general, it is advisable to assign Groups to the Sub-organization Admin Group only.
- Organization – shows the Organization to which a Group has been assigned (only one).
- Members – shows all the Users who are members of the Group.
- Updated Date – shows the last date/time that information about the Group was updated in the NC4 Risk Center system.
Creating and Updating Group Information
The screen, as shown here, is used to both create and/or update a Group.
Creating a Group
The procedures for creating and updating Group information are similar. The attached table describes the fields you will use to create or update Groups. When all information is complete, click Save to save the Group, or Cancel to dismiss the screen and return to the Groups list.
When all the available information has been entered about the Group:
- Click on the Save button. A dialog box will notify you if you have not completed all of the required fields.
- Or, click on the Cancel button to close the Create a Location window without saving any changes.
Deleting a Group
From the Groups list, click the linked organization name that you want to delete. The Update Group screen displays, as shown below. The Update screen will contain the same fields as previously described for creating Groups.
Only Non-Admin Groups can be deleted. The unique AdminGroup for each organization cannot be deleted. The AdminGroup(s) is required in order to administer the organization.
Group membership may determine which Users can view and update locations, and it may control the alerts that Users receive via Alert Profiles. By deleting a Group, you will remove the Users listed on the confirmation screen from the Group. Their association with the Locations and Profiles listed will be severed unless the Users have been assigned to them in another way. Please carefully consider deleting Groups from your account before proceeding. Contact the NC4 Support Center with any questions.
Deleting a Group from the Update Group mode
- Click the Delete Group button in the upper right of the window, as shown above. The Delete Group Confirmation screen is displayed. You have several options from the confirmation screen:
- Click the Delete button. A confirmation dialog box is displayed. Click OK only if you have considered the impact, taken all appropriate actions, and are sure that you want to permanently remove this Group from the system.
- Click the Cancel button to exit the screen and return to the Update Group screen. Click Cancel if you decide against deleting the Group or if you need to save Location data or reassign Users to another Group before deleting this one.
- Click the Print button to print the contents of the confirmation screen for review before making your final decision to Delete or Cancel.
Items may be inadvertently deleted or reassigned. Associated Users, Locations, Alert Profiles, References, and Situation Reports will also be deleted. Users outside this Group will no longer have access to any of the associated Alert Profiles.